Facing DUI Charges? Here is What to Expect

December 11, 2018

Facing DUI Charges? Here is What to Expect

‘Tis the season for holiday celebrations. Office parties, family get-togethers, and year-end extravaganzas can mean the drinks will be flowing, and the possibilities for being arrested for DUI increase.

If you are facing DUI/DWI charges, do you know what penalties you will be facing?

The DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

Thanks to Act 24, there are three levels of driving under the influence in Pennsylvania. Each level carries a different set of penalties.

For those who have a BAC between .08 and .099 percent or the BAC could not be undetermined, you are at the general impairment level. You will be facing the following consequences:

  • No prior DUI: It is considered an ungraded misdemeanor. You could face up to six months of probation, $300 in fines, and ordered to attend alcohol highway safety school and possible alcohol treatment.
  • A prior offense: Your license will be suspended for 12 months and face five days to six months in jail. You will be fined between $300 to $2,500 in fines, ordered to treatment and alcohol safety school, and must have an ignition interlock placed on your vehicle for up to one year.
  • Two or more prior offenses: This is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. You will be facing ten days to two years in prison, a license suspension of up to 12 months, $500 to $5,000 in fines, ordered to treatment and a one-year ignition interlock.

For those who have a BAC between .10 and .159 percent, you are at the highest BAC level. You can face the following consequences:

  • No prior DUI: An ungraded misdemeanor, you will face a 12-month license suspension, 48 hours to six months in prison, $500 to $5,000 in fines, and ordered to alcohol highway safety school and possible treatment.
  • A prior offense: You can face a 12-month suspension, 30 days to six months in prison, $750 to $5,000 in fines, ordered to alcohol highway safety school and possible treatment, and an ignition interlock placed on your vehicle for up to one year.
  • Two or more prior offenses: A first-degree misdemeanor, an 18-month license suspension, 90 days to five years in prison, $1,500 to $10,000 in fines, possible treatment, and a one-year ignition interlock.

The highest level, Highest BAC, is for those who either was driving under the influence of a controlled substance or had a BAC of .16 percent or higher. Since this is the highest level, the consequences are much higher:

  • No prior DUI: An ungraded misdemeanor, you will face a 12-month license suspension, 72 hours to six months in prison, $1,000 to $5,000 in fines, and ordered to attend alcohol highway safety school and possible alcohol treatment.
  • A prior offense: A first-degree misdemeanor, you will face an 18-month license suspension, 90 days to five years in prison, $1,500 to $10,000 in fines, alcohol highway safety school and possible treatment, and an ignition interlock on your vehicle for one year.
  • Two or more prior offenses: You will be facing an 18-month license suspension, 1 to 5 years in prison, $2,500 to $10,000 in fines, possible treatment, and one-year ignition interlock.

Why You Need an Experienced DUI Attorney

You may be thinking that you could face these charges on your own. That would be a mistake. Without a criminal defense attorney by your side, you could receive the harshest punishment possible. But with an experienced DUI lawyer from Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano, there may be a flaw found in the prosecution’s case, or you could only receive an ARD.

Don’t wait another second. If you are facing DUI charges in Northeastern Pennsylvania, contact Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano today for a free consultation.

Share This:

Categories

Tags

Archives

Facts About DUI in Pennsylvania
Back to Top