Drunk driving convictions can have serious consequences for college students in Scranton and other communities throughout Northeastern Pennsylvania. If you were arrested – or if your son or daughter was charged – take legal action as soon as possible.
At Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano, we understand the urgency of your legal matter. That’s why we want to meet with you and get straight to work on your DUI charge case. We realize that the consequences of charges against college students can be devastating.
Conveniently located in downtown Scranton, our law firm is staffed by experienced criminal defense attorneys in Lackawanna County. We have worked hard to build a reputation as a legal team that gets results for college students throughout the region.
“What should I do if I’m a Scranton college student charged with drunk driving?”
Start by getting in touch with Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano. A delay may hurt your chances of building a strong case. By contacting us today, we can start working on your case immediately. Don’t assume you will be convicted of DUI just because you have been charged. You have legal options, and we can help you explore them.
We routinely represent students from the following area colleges and universities:
- University of Scranton
- Career Technology Center of Lackawanna County
- Commonwealth Medical College
- Johnson College
- Keystone College
- Lackawanna College
- Marywood University
- Penn State Worthington Scranton
- Summit University of Pennsylvania (formerly Baptist Bible College and Seminary)
Wherever you go to college in Northeastern Pennsylvania, whatever the circumstances of your DUI arrest, contact our law firm and find out what we can do for you. We can also help out-of-state residents charged with DUI.
What are the penalties for a DUI conviction for a college student in Scranton?
The penalties vary widely for a DUI conviction. Factors include your age, whether you have been previously convicted and how much alcohol you consumed. If you are under 21 years old, Pennsylvania’s underage DUI laws will apply to your case. Another factor is whether you were involved in a car accident and if anyone was injured or killed in the accident.
If you were drunk at the time of your arrest but did not cause an accident, the penalties for drivers 18 to 21 years old can include fines up to $5,000, driver’s license suspension and possibly even prison time depending on the circumstances of your arrest. The penalties can be much more severe if you caused a DUI accident that resulted in injuries.
However, if this is your first DUI conviction, you might be eligible for Pennsylvania’s ARD program. This innovative program for first-time offenders is similar to probation. After you complete the program, evidence of your DUI conviction will be removed from your record.
“Can I be expelled from college for DUI conviction in Pennsylvania?”
The rules vary for every individual college. Some universities and colleges have stricter rules than others. As a result, the possibility exists that you could be expelled or subject to other disciplinary action if you’re convicted of DUI in Pennsylvania.
In addition, having a criminal record can sometimes make getting a job or a loan much harder in the future after college, even if your DUI arrest occurred years ago.
How can a lawyer help a Scranton college student charged with DUI?
No professor would ever expect you to become an instant expert on a particular subject after your first class. The same is true if you have been arrested for DUI in Scranton. The laws involving such charges can be extremely complicated and confusing, which is why it’s best to work with a Scranton attorney who has experience navigating the courts and a proven track record of getting the results clients desire.