The Hidden Costs of a DUI Conviction

November 3, 2020

The Hidden Costs of a DUI Conviction

When you get convicted of a DUI charge in Pennsylvania, you likely fear the cost a damaged reputation will have on your personal and professional life. But the costs of a DUI conviction are far greater than just reputation. From fines, treatment fees, increased car insurance, and ignition interlock devices, a DUI charge is costly in more ways than one. The DUI charge attorneys of Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano explain the hidden costs of a DUI conviction.

DUI Fines Based on Penalties

*General Impairment

Depending on if this is your first charge or you’ve had multiple will determine the cost of your penalty. If you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 to .099, you may face:

  • $300 fine for no prior offenses
  • $300 to $2,500 fine for 1 prior offense
  • $500 to $5,000 for 2 or more offenses

*High BAC

If you have a high BAC, which is .10 to .159, your fines will grow. This ranges from:

  • $500 to $5,000 fine for no prior offenses
  • $750 to $5,000 fine for 1 prior offense
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine for 3 or more prior offenses

*Highest BAC

If you have what is considered the highest BAC which is .16 or greater, your fines may result in:

  • $1,000 to $5,000 for no prior convictions
  • $1,500 to $10,000 for 1 prior conviction
  • $2,500 to $10,000 for 2 or more convictions

*This does not include the cost of license suspension, ignition interlock, treatment time, etc.

Because these are just the baseline fines you may face, you need to calculate the other costs associated with a DUI conviction: license suspension, treatment and/or alcohol safety school, insurance increases, and ignition interlock systems.

Other Costs After DUI Conviction

In addition to the DUI penalties, there are other fees you must consider:

  • License Reinstatement Fee: $70
  • Auto Insurance Increase: Depending on the carrier, the insurance rate may increase from 30% to over 45% which can cost you thousands.
  • Rehabilitation: $1,000 to $2,500 depending on the court mandated program
  • Ignition Interlock: $2.50 to $3.50 a day plus $70 to $150 to install and a monthly maintenance fee of $60 to $80.

Again, these are not all of the fees you can anticipate as you need to consider court costs and attorney fees.

What Can a DUI Charge Cost You?

Without knowing the specific details of your DUI conviction, it is hard to calculate the costs you can expect to pay. But what we can tell you is that without proper legal representation, the cost you pay can be grossly increased when going at it alone.

Don’t handle your DUI charge without consulting with the Scranton criminal defense attorneys of Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano. We will evaluate the charge, review your options, and work to give you the best possible sentence.

Drinking and driving comes with risks. Don’t wait.

Scranton DUI Lawyers Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano

Whether this is your first DUI or you have multiple violations, the Scranton DUI lawyers at Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano can handle your case. We will review the case, look for flaws in the BAC testing, and work to give you the minimum sentence. Contact our law firm right now for more information. We want to help you.

Share This:

Categories

Tags

Archives

Facts About DUI in Pennsylvania
Back to Top