What Happens If I Get An Underage DUI and Miss Curfew?

February 23, 2021

What Happens If I Get An Underage DUI and Miss Curfew?

It is not uncommon for local ordinances to mandate a curfew for young drivers. Curfews may be in place from the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m or even earlier in the evening. While these laws are meant to protect young drivers from trouble–they can actually add more complications should you find yourself in trouble. If you are a young driver and then find yourself charged with an underage DUI, there are certain things you need to know.

Curfews and DUI

While each city may have various terms to their curfew mandates, from ordinance to ordinance, they generally have similar terms and penalties for failing to follow them. For example, in the City of Lancaster, if a minor or parent violates any provisions of curfew law, he or she is guilty of a summary offense and, may be subject to fine or imprisonment as follows:

  • First offense: $50
  • Second offense: $100 to $150
  • Third offense: $150 to $200
  • Fourth offense: $200 to $300. Parents may be subjected to imprisonment for up to 90 days and minors to referral to the juvenile court system.
  • Fifth and subsequent offenses: $300 to $500. Parents are subject to imprisonment for up to 90 days and minors to referral to the juvenile court system.

But say you’re a young driver, and you get pulled over–to make matters worse, you’ve been drinking.

PA Zero Tolerance Laws

Under Pennsylvania’s Zero Tolerance Law, there are serious consequences for those under 21 who are convicted of driving with alcohol in their blood. Those under 21 who are convicted of a DUI with a .02 blood alcohol content or greater can face severe penalties, including a 12- to 18-month license suspension, 48 hours to six months in jail, and fines from $500 to $5,000.

And, when you have a curfew violation on top of a DUI, you can face even more legal and financial headaches.

Underage DUIs are not just a lone problem, they encapsulate many laws and violations and can be carried with the accused for years to come. If you have faced a DUI charge in NEPA and have broken curfew, know that you have a team ready to help you secure the most favorable outcome.

NEPA Underage DUI & Curfew Attorneys: MKPV Law

The experienced Scranton DUI lawyers at Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano can aggressively investigate your case and search for evidence to clear your name. We will scrutinize the evidence police have against you in your underaged DUI charge.

It’s not unusual for law enforcement to make mistakes in collecting and storing evidence, such as the results of drunk driving tests. In other instances, we might even find evidence indicating that the arresting officer failed to follow the correct arrest procedures and have your charges dismissed altogether. We leave no stone unturned when defending clients facing charges. Let us help you get started on building your case. Call (570) 348-0776 now for a free consultation or contact us online.

Share This:

Categories

Tags

Archives

Facts About DUI in Pennsylvania
Back to Top